Stuart Kaminsky has been  selected to receive the 2006 Grand Master Award, the 50th recipient that began with Agatha Christie

The Grand Master Award

The Grand Master Award, given yearly by the MWA, represents the pinnacle of achievement in the mystery field. This prestigious and highly coveted award was established to recognize not only important contributions to the mystery field over time, but a significant output of consistently high quality as well.

Previous Grand Master Award Recipients

2005   Marcia Muller
2004   Joseph Wambaugh
2003   Ira Levin
2002   Robert B. Parker
2001   Edward D. Hoch
2000   Mary Higgins Clark
1999   P.D. James
1998   Barbara Mertz
(aka Elizabeth Peters
and Barbara Michaels)
1997   Ruth Rendell
1996   Dick Francis
1995   Mickey Spillane
1994   Lawrence Block
1993   Donald E. Westlake
1992   Elmore Leonard
1991   Tony Hillerman
1990   Helen McCloy
 1989   Hillary Waugh
1988   Phyllis A. Whitney
1987   Michael Gilbert
1986   Ed McBain
1985   Dorothy Salisbury Davis
1984   John le Carré
1983   Margaret Millar
1982   Julian Symons
1981   Stanley Ellin
1980   W.R. Burnett
1979   Aaron Marc Stein
1978   Daphne du Maurier
1978   Dorothy B. Hughes
1978   Ngaio Marsh
1976   Graham Greene
1975   Eric Ambler
1974   Ross Macdonald
 1973   Alfred Hitchcock
1973   Judson Philips
1972   John D. MacDonald
1971   Mignon G. Eberhart
1970   James M. Cain
1969   John Creasey
1967   Baynard Kendrick
1966   Georges Simenon
1964   George Harmon Coxe
1963   John Dickson Carr
1962   Erle Stanley Gardner
1961   Ellery Queen
(Frederic Dannay
and Manfred B. Lee)
1959   Rex Stout
1958   Vincent Starrett
1955   Agatha Christie